

Distr.: General 7 March 2006

Original: English

Letter dated 3 March 2006 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to refer to Security Council resolution 1654 (2006) concerning the Democratic Republic of the Congo. In paragraph 1 of the resolution, the Council requested me to re-establish the Group of Experts referred to in paragraph 10 of resolution 1533 (2004) and paragraph 21 of resolution 1596 (2005), in consultation with the Committee established pursuant to paragraph 8 of resolution 1533 (2004), within 30 days from the date of adoption of resolution 1654 (2006) and for a period expiring on 31 July 2006.

Accordingly, I wish to inform you that I have appointed the following five experts:

Ibra Déguène Ka (Senegal)

Jacques A. J. Buisson (Canada, arms trafficking expert)

Enrico Carisch (Switzerland, finance expert)

Abdoulaye Cissoko (Mali, aviation expert)

Jean-Luc Gallet (France, customs and border control expert)

I have also designated Ambassador Ibra Déguène Ka to serve as the Chairman of the Group of Experts.

I should be grateful if you would bring this information to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) Kofi A. Annan

06-26182 (E) 070306 * 0626182*